Rocky waters

We are a little over 24 hours away from your appointment in the OR, Miss M.  And, the family stress level went from “medium” to “out of control” this morning.  Your brother acts up, because of changes in the household – Nana flew in last night to stay for the next week and a half, and he probably senses that there is going to be a change in his routine. When your dad is stressed, his limited patience becomes even shorter.  Those two things feed off each other and your brother was in “time out” three times within an hour, the last time with a lot of yelling on your dad’s part.  Which makes me freak out.  I hate yelling, I think it has no role in discipline.  So then I argue with your dad about it in the car on our way to work.  Because he is making Nana, your brother, and my own stress even worse.  I’m sure I have some role in this whole dysfunctional mess as well, but I, of course, think I react appropriately and perfectly – no yelling, just calm criticism.  But your dad gets even angrier with the criticism, and gets even more resentful and angry at your brother and me.

I wish I could figure out how to stop this cycle.  I try so hard to do so.  But I can only change my own behavior, and I’m too close to the situation to figure out what I can possibly change about my own behavior to help the situation.  If I knew, I would do it.  I wish there was some magical thing I could do or say to make your brother stop whining and your dad stop yelling.

But maybe I just need to let it go.  Let it go, my guilt over Nana and Grandma having to deal with our family stress too, not just helping with your recovery and playing with your brother.  Let it go, that they see our family at our worst.  Let it go, that it shouldn’t be this way, that we should all support each other and focus on you, Miss M.  Let it go, that your brother may have some emotional challenges to deal with because of the extra stresses during these times.  He’s a smart, strong, kid, and overall he still has so many advantages in this world, he’ll figure it all out and be ok.

Leave a Reply

